Databases

As a library member, you have unlimited access to a range of databases and web services that normally require a subscription. In order to use our databases you will need to know your library card number and password. If you need help with obtaining this, please contact us on (03) 2111 444.

If you would like to become a library member, you can learn about the signup process here.

Arts, Music, Literature, Business, & News Media

Australia New Zealand Reference Centre
Includes leading Australia/NZ journals and international magazines in full text; full text reference books; over 80,000 full text biographies and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps and flags.

Novelist Plus
Find your next read from the recommended lists of fiction and nonfiction for all ages.

PressReader
Same day access to local, national and international newspapers and magazines.

Family History, History, & Biography

Ancestry 
This database can only be accessed from inside the library. 
Provides access to census records, military records, land records, probate records, church records, directories, passenger lists and more. It includes New Zealand electoral rolls spanning 1853-1981, as well as Māori electoral rolls spanning 1908-1919.

 

Funding

Log in – returning user
Sign up – First time users

Generosity – GiveMe
Search for scholarships, awards and grants to help with study or professional development.  Includes closing dates, application requirements and contact details.

Generosity – GivER This database can only be accessed from inside the library. 
Search to find companies by the kind of relationship you want (eg sponsorship), the area you work in, a particular brand or business activity.

Generosity – GivUS
Find information for voluntary organisations looking for funding.  Includes closing dates, application requirements and contact details.

General Reference

Haynes Manuals AllAccess
Get access to manuals which cover repairs and servicing of cars and motorcycles

Clarity IELTS
Road to IELTS is divided into four parts – reading, listening, speaking and writing. In each skill area you can prepare for the test by reading information about each paper, listening to the online video and taking the interactive practice questions.

Encyclopedia Britannica
Find current events, pictures and links to relevant internet resources. Search different levels of Britannica using Elementary Encyclopedia for younger students, Student Encyclopedia or Concise Encyclopedia for advanced level of research.

Eric
Find full text articles on education material as well as citations to other related information. 

Index New Zealand
Abstracts of articles from NZ and Pacific journals from 1950s onwards

Find NZ Articles
Index to multiple databases

Medianet

View film and video collections around the country through Medianet – a digital database where you can watch over 1000 short films, features, documentaries, television commercials and more. Every three months new videos are loaded into the database.

The earliest New Zealand film is about the departure of soldiers for the Boer War in 1900. Local items of interest include Roger Donaldsons 1973 documentary on Burt Munro and the 1928 short film Daughter of Invercargill.

The highest film rating is M – suitable for mature audiences 16 and over (but still unrestricted).

You will find the following categories: Advertising, Animation, Documentary, General history, Home movies, Music, Newsreels, Short film, Sport, War